NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety



Course duration

12 Days + Exams

Certificate valid for

Never expires

Book this course today. Call 0115 8970 529 or click here to send us a message

The NEBOSH National Construction Certificate is aimed at Supervisors, Managers and those with a role under the Construction Design and Management regulations 2015 within the construction industry who are required to ensure that activities under their control are undertaken safely, including Health and Safety Advisors. It is likely to prove useful for those concerned with the management of buildings who may need to ensure that contractors are working safely. The qualification is also appropriate for supervisors and managers working in other industries such as utilities, and even broadcasting, where temporary workplaces are a feature of their activities.

NEBOSH Construction Health and Safety Course Overview

The NEBOSH National Construction Certificate covers the main legal requirements relating to health and safety in UK construction work, identification and control of construction workplace hazards, and the practical application of this knowledge.

No previous health and safety knowledge is required although it is advisable that candidates do have an understanding of the basic practical aspects of the construction industry. It should also be noted that the practical assessment requires students to undertake an inspection of a construction workplace and to prepare an appropriate report.

The qualification is divided into three units, each of which is assessed separately:

  • Management of health and safety (NGC1)
  • Managing and controlling hazards in construction activities (NCC1)
  • Construction health and safety practical application (NCC2)

Minimum Standard of English Required for Candidates

The standard of English required by candidates studying for the NEBOSH National General Certificate must be such that they can both understand and articulate the concepts contained in the syllabus. It is important to stress that the onus is on accredited course providers to determine their candidates’ standards of proficiency in English. NEBOSH recommends to accredited course providers that candidates undertaking this qualification should reach a minimum standard of English equivalent to an International English Language Testing System score of 6.0 or higher in IELTS tests in order to be accepted onto a National General Certificate programme.

For further information please see the latest version of the IELTS Handbook or consult the IELTS website:

Candidates wishing to assess their own language expertise may consult the IELTS website for information on taking the test:


The National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety consists of three units; NGC1, NCC1 and NCC2.

Exemptions available for Unit NGC1 from:

  • National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety - mark achieved for Unit NGC1
  • National Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management - mark achieved for Unit NGC1
  • National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety - capped at 45%

Learner Numbers

 In order to ensure the interaction between the learners and the tutor is spread evenly and effectively, the maximum number of learners allowed on a course is twelve.

Units NGC1 and NCC1 are taught units each assessed by a two-hour written examination. Each written examination consists of ten ‘short-answer’ questions and one ‘long-answer’ question. All questions are compulsory. Candidate scripts are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH.

Unit NCC2 is assessed by a two-hour practical examination carried out in the candidate's own workplace to test the application of taught health and safety principles in a construction workplace. The assessment must normally be taken within 14 days of a written examination.

NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety.

This qualification is widely respected by employers and meets the requirements for Technician Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH) and Associate Membership of IIRSM (AIIRSM).


Benefits of the NEBOSH Construction Course for Employers

Many larger construction organisations choose the NEBOSH National Construction Certificate as a key part of their supervisory or management development programme. By ensuring that line managers have a sound understanding of the principles of risk management they build an effective safety culture in the company.

Owners or managers of smaller consultancy companies will find this qualification helps them to meet the requirements of clients and principal contractors when working on other people's premises or sites.

The unitised qualification structure and variety of available course formats enables candidates and employers to arrange training around the needs of the business. Many NEBOSH training providers will offer in-company courses, to allow the inclusion of material specifically relevant to the organisations workplace.

Is the NEBOSH Construction Qualification Recognised?

Holders of the National Construction Certificate are entitled to Associate Membership (AIOSH) of the Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH). The qualification also meets the academic requirements for Technical Membership (Tech IOSH) of IOSH and Associate Membership (AIIRSM) of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM).

The NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety meets the headline entrance criteria requirements for Construction Safety Associate membership (AaPS) of the Association for Project Safety (APS).

Holders of both the NEBOSH National or International Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety and the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety meet the headline entrance criteria requirements for Registered Membership (RMaPS) of the Association for Project Safety (APS)

The NEBOSH National Construction Certificate has been accredited and credit rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA). It sits in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) at SCQF Level 6 with 17 SCQF credit points.

SCQF Level 6 is comparable to NQF/QCF Level 3 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. See the “Qualifications Can Cross Boundaries” chart issued by the UK regulators, available here:

Where appropriate, the SQA logo will appear on certificates awarded for this qualification. The SCQF logo and credit information will appear on the unit result notification. For further information on SCQF credit and levels see: